The winners of the competition for the best master and PhD theses, sponsored by ABB and launched by the Italian Section of IEEE together with the Women In Engineering Affinity Group – Italy Section, have been announced.

The competition rewards the best master’s and doctoral theses on new technological challenges in energy and industry. These topics are of common interest to ABB, a world leader in power and automation technologies, and IEEE.

The winners for the MSc Thesis Award – Technology category are:
Laura CROSARA (Università di Padova): “General models and robust countermeasures for position spoofing attacks in Global Navigation Satellite Systems
Benedetta Maria Vita OSTUNI (Università di Studi Napoli Federico II): “Design and Development of soft actuators with variable stiffness for soft exoskeleton glove

The winners for the MSc Thesis Award – Sustainability category are:
Luisa TOLOSANO (Politecnico di Torino): “Flux Polar Control of ac Motor Drives
and the two ex-aequo awards:
ex-aequo Federico ROSSI (Politecnico di Milano): “Sviluppo di una metodologia finalizzata al dimensionamento di un impianto di accumulo per la fornitura di servizi alla rete
ex-aequo Vincenzo BARBA (Politecnico di Torino): “String inverter control design for photovoltaic applications

The winners for the PhD Thesis Award – Technology category are:
Patricia CAPSI MORALES (Università di Pisa): “Neuroscientific and soft-robotic principles for a new generation of natural bionic limbs
and the two ex-aequo awards:
ex-aequo Federica ZONZINI (Università di Bologna): “Intelligent Sensor Systems for Structural Health Monitoring Applications
ex-aequo Andrea MOTRONI (Università di Pisa): “UHF-RFID Technology for Indoor Localization in Industrial Internet of Things Scenarios

The winners for the PhD Thesis Award – Sustainability category are:
Ilaria FABBRI (Università di Ferrara): “SMART HEALTHY CITY innovative urban services to improve the health in the city and its residents’ wellbeing
and the two ex-aequo awardees:
ex-aequo Gabriele MOSAICO (Università di Genova): “Simulation, forecasting, and control in power system analytics: methodological aspects and applications
ex-aequo Pier Giuseppe ANSELMA (Politecnico di Torino): “Optimal Computer-aided Engineering of Propulsion and Brake Systems for Electrified and Automated Road Vehicles

The award winners have been announced during the online award ceremony, as part of the IEEE Day 2022 celebrations on October 4.

ABB-IEEE Award 2022: ABB-IEEE Award for best Master and PhD theses