• Honorary Award 2023 – Description

Recipient: Andrew J. Viterbi  “Fundamental and lasting contributions to communications technology and theory”

Related links

Andrew J. Viterbi bio

IEEE bio and publications


  • Honorary Award 2022 – Description

Recipient: Pasquale Pistorio – The rebuilder of European Semiconductor industry, able to combine profit and environmental/social sustainability

Related links

Pasquale Pistorio bio

IEEE bio and publications


  • Honorary Award 2021 – Description

Recipient: Alberto Sangiovanni Vincentelli – for ground-breaking contributions and pioneering innovation in electronic design automation that have enabled the design of modern integrated circuits and their industrial implementation

Award Ceremony, (online), October 5, 2021

Related links

Alberto Sangiovanni Vincentelli bio

IEEE bio and publications

Lecture given at the IEEE Day 2021 celebration


  • Honorary Award 2020 – Description

Recipient: Federico Capasso – for outstanding and pioneering contributions to the physics of quantum confined photonic systems and their applications, ranging from bandstructure engineering and the invention of Quantum Cascade Lasers to the physics and engineering of metasurfaces

Award Ceremony, (online), October 12, 2020

Related links

Federico Capasso bio

Capasso group at Harward University

IEEE bio and publications

Award Ceremony Presentation


Recipient: Roberto Padovani – for pioneering innovations in mobile packet-switched Internet access, central to third- and fourth-generation cellular networks

Honorary Award Ceremony, Pisa (Italy), February 6, 2020

Related links

Roberto Padovani bio

Award Ceremony and presentations


Recipient: Federico Faggin – for his outstanding contributions to the self aligned MOS silicon gate theory & technology and to the development of the first microprocessor

Related links

Award Ceremony and presentations

Faggin Foundation

Federico Faggin bio

Federico Faggin: article on Corriere della Sera


Recipient: Leonardo Chiariglione – for the significant contribution in the development of MPEG international standards

Award Ceremony during RTSI 2017 (from left to right: Tiziana Tambosso, Leonardo Chiariglione, Bernardo Tellini)

Related links

A vision made real – Past, present and future of MPEG

Blog di Leonardo Chiariglione

Il miracolo della nascita dell’MP3 e dello standard MPEG